Send us a suggestion!

TRs on Latest Rave - Heaps and a Glen Canyon trip.

Discussion in 'Archives - Yahoo Canyons Group' started by TomJones, Oct 28, 2009.

1. TomJones

TomJones Guest

2. lvuci

lvuci Guest

Enjoyed, indeed!

Beautiful photography, Tom!

cheers, Larry
  3. What a great night time shot at Rainbow Bridge.

On Wed, Oct 28, 2009 at 12:50 PM, TomJones ratagonia@gmail.com> wrote:

> Just finished up the fall trip reports with a Glen Canyon one from > September, and a Heaps from last Monday.
    http://canyoneeringusa.com/rave/index.htm
    > Enjoy.
    Tom
    >
  4. Mudcat

Mudcat Guest

Bill Westerhoff and I had been bugging Tom for a few months to take us through Heaps, so I guess to stop the harassment he finally relented. We were joined by Nick Wilkes, the head of guiding at ZAC, so another seasoned pro. Bill and I have done a few canyons before and he's a great guy to have on your team--a total workhorse and always good-spirited. It took me about a nanosecond to realize I was the weakest link in this group.

To make matters worse, I had woken up feeling pretty sick on Sunday (no, not H1N1--I've had that already!) but decided to drive down to Zion anyway in the afternoon. I warned Tom in an email that my participation might be a game-time decision. We met, geared up, packed, ate and set up the tent for an early night. Unfortunately, being a bit sick I didn't get much sleep and when the alarm went off at 3:45a my throat felt lousy and I was croaking, but figured I could grunt my way through anything.

The eight-mile approach on the West Rim Trail in the morning darkness was a delightful way to start the day, and my body gradually warmed up to the task. Daylight revealed extraordinary vistas of the park to the east and all the way to LaVerkin to the west. Before long we were suiting up for the wet, technical section and I was feeling more robust and confident.