Send us a suggestion!

Time to selectively bolt North Wash?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ratagonia, May 22, 2017.

1. ratagonia

ratagonia

Correspondence from an active canyoneer:

"Hi Tom,

We've likely corresponded a bit in the past. I have been canyoning around Hanksville for the last 10 years. Our core group are experienced mountaineers and expedition cavers. We've got a lot of experience with rigging and setting anchors, especially as cavers since we have to be very careful of rope rub, and all ropes get re-ascended.

So far we've avoided placing bolts and stuck to traditional rigging. I've noticed a slow increase in the number of poorly placed bolts in the more popular canyons. I've also seen a lot of unsafe rigging. And I've seen a lot of unsightly rigging: 30 foot slings winding around corners. Finally, I'm seeing a lot more rope grooves.

Do you think it's worth starting a discussion among the more experienced canyoneers around properly bolting some of the more popular canyons? I'm willing to help out with this. I think it would increase safety and lower the environmental impact. And I think we could be selective around what canyons to do it in.

If so, who else should be involved in this discussion? I don't think it needs to be a formal thing. Probably better if it's done anonymously if only for liability reasons. But if some of the leaders in the community speak out in favor of selective bolting maybe we can avoid the bolt chopping wars that have plagued various climbing communities as well as setting some social guidelines around when and where bolting is appropriate.

Regards, xxxxxxxx"
    darhawk and LonePeak like this.
  2. ratagonia

ratagonia

I think this is a very very bad idea. Will elaborate later.

Tom
    Rapterman likes this.
  3. ratagonia

ratagonia

Looking for comments and opinions, preferably supported by logical arguments here.
  4. wisconnyjohnny

wisconnyjohnny

IMG_6175.JPG eyes on this thread.
    wow.