Send us a suggestion!

Tech Tip: Question Thoughts on my rope walker system? (Beginner)

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Gear' started by chconnor, May 17, 2018.

1. chconnor

chconnor

Howdy -- I'm a beginner with plans to do some canyoneering-style rappelling this summer: a single static rope, descent followed by ascent, repeat. I've done basic prusik ascending and descending, but the summer adventures will have some very long rappels (300+ feet) so I've been researching options for a rope-walker system.

Current plan:

descents:
    - some kind of rack style device for descents in conjunction with an autoblock of some type
    - ATC or petzl reverso on-hand as a backup device (as well as prusiks, etc.)

ascents:
    - CT quick step foot ascender
    - petzl basic as a DIY SAKA (shock cord to harness)
    - petzl croll 'chest' ascender (see below)

Seem sane? (Don't worry, I have friends that have various experience in this area who I'll be learning with, and will be practicing a lot; I'm not just going to throw a rope over a cliff and go for it. I just wanted to solicit the internet's advice on the gear selection before I spend a bunch of cash.)

Besides gear choice, the remaining questions:

- I know it's common to use a chest harness for a chest ascender. i was hoping to just attach the croll with a maillon to my harness as I've seen some do. Seems OK, yeah? A little less stable maybe but with two hands more or less free it doesn't seem like it'll be hard to stabilize.

- while ascending with three points of safety or quasi-safety (foot, knee, and chest) is it typical to use a backup friction knot? At first glance I thought not, but neither of the lower two ascenders seem like a wise way to fall, so having a spare hand on a prusik up high makes a lot of sense?