Send us a suggestion!

Tech Tip: Answered The RIGHT way to do most anything...

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Gear' started by ratagonia, Jun 20, 2016.

1. ratagonia

ratagonia

interesting article:

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/resc...ui-mccurley?trk=hb_ntf_MEGAPHONE_ARTICLE_POST

Not exactly canyoneering, but it sure seems applicable...

Loui McCurley
    Author, Speaker, Executive at Pigeon Mountain Industries, Inc

Follow
    Rescue Professional or Rescue Nazi?
    May 29, 2016

A couple of years ago, at the International Technical Rescue Symposium (www.itrsonline.org) a highly respected individual in the technical rescue world did one of the most respectable things a man can do. He stood up and said something along the lines of "for all of you who have taken my rescue classes over the years, I just want to say... I'm sorry! I've recently done some new testing, and some of the stuff I've been teaching as absolute for the last 20 years... really isn't!"

ITRS participants have long had a term for people who prescribe technical rescue tools and equipment like a mathematical formula: Rescue Nazi. While having personal preferences is certainly not bad - in fact any rescue professional/paraprofessional is entitled to (indeed, should!) have them - experience teaches that an ‘absolute’ approach to rigging and technical theory is something that softens over time.

How open minded are you as a rescuer? Answer each of the following questions with a simple “yes/agree” or “no/disagree”:

1. Rescue should only be done with a 12.5mm rope.
    2. Fire Departments have no business doing Technical Rescue.
    3. Mountain Rescuers have no clue what they are doing when it comes to Technical Rescue.
    4. Employers can’t effectively train and staff an in house Technical Rescue Team.
    5. Tandem Prusiks are the only reliable way to belay a load.
    6. Every rope rescue system must incorporate a belay.