Send us a suggestion!

Survey: Sandthrax Campground

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Scott Chandler, Mar 4, 2013.

1. Scott Chandler

Scott Chandler Wildness is a necessity-John Muir

Hey all!

As has been noted in a couple posts I've done here and there, I am studying Natural Resource Management at the University of Utah. One of my class's final project is to do a site assessment for impacts and I decided to do mine on Sandthrax Campground down by the irish canyons.

I got the thought the other day to ask users of that site (aka us canyoneers) what they think of the place. What you like and dislike about the place. Anything you would like that isn't there? Just your general opinions about the place. I think it would be a nice thing to include if I could get enough respondents.

And in case you fear this going to someone who cares (because some people do,) this is simply a class assignment for a grade. I'm not at a level yet in my career in which I can hand a report to the BLM and anything would be done with it.

Thanks in advance for the help!
  2. Jenny

Jenny

I will add my two cents worth in the form of two additions I'd love to see to the Sandtrax camp.
    1. Toilet facility at the kiosk sign. (Many use the facility down the road at Hog Springs, or bring a portable potty system, but more folks do not!)
    2. Designated fire pit(s)
    Scott, when you compile the results, why not take it to the uppity uppers? If not you, then who? If not now, then when? Thanks for pointing the spotlight on this.
    Scott Chandler likes this.
  3. Scott Chandler

Scott Chandler Wildness is a necessity-John Muir

If there is enough interest from the community in passing my report on I can inquire about it. One person doesn't have much of a voice but a group does.

[Edit: thought of the second sentence after posting]
  4. ratagonia

ratagonia