Send us a suggestion!

Sterling Canyon Tech rope

Discussion in 'Archives - Yahoo Canyons Group' started by Matt Maxon, Oct 8, 2008.

1. Matt Maxon

Matt Maxon Guest

I've been looking for a long rope and came across Sterling Canyon Tech

This "seems to me" to be a good compromise between weight, strength, cut resistance, and cost

specs 9mm Technora sheath, nylon core, MBS 5486 Lbf, 0.043 lb per foot

prices hovering around $1.04459... per foot

This seems to be a good compromise between my gold standard of BW Canyonline and BW Canyon per foot Rope size MBS weight Price _________________________________________ Canyonline 9mm 6800 19.5 g $1.44975 Canyon 9mm 5000 18.14g $0.74975 Canyon Tech 9mm 5486 19.5 g $1.04459

I have no direct experience with Canyonline but have used Canyon Xtreme and "assume" it is similar

With this in mind I rate Canyonline very high as to cut resistance does this cut resistance apply to Canyon Tech since it uses the same sheath material?

Any one have experience with this rope?

Right now I can purchase a 200m spool for 20% off at moosejaw or $485.20 (0.743¢ per foot!)

Matt
  2. Tom Jones

Tom Jones Guest

--- In Yahoo Canyons Group, "Matt Maxon" <matt.maxon@...> wrote:
    I've been looking for a long rope and came across Sterling Canyon > Tech. This "seems to me" to be a good compromise between weight, > strength, cut resistance, and cost. specs:
    9mm Technora sheath, nylon core, MBS 5486 Lbf, 0.043 lb per foot > prices hovering around $1.04459... per foot
    This seems to be a good compromise between my gold standard of BW > Canyonline and BW Canyon > per foot > Rope size MBS weight Price > _________________________________________ > Canyonline 9mm 6800 19.5 g $1.44975 > Canyon 9mm 5000 18.14g $0.74975 > Canyon Tech 9mm 5486 19.5 g $1.04459
    I have no direct experience with Canyonline but have used Canyon > Xtreme and "assume" it is similar