Send us a suggestion!

Static rope glazing/heat damage

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ultra Static, Oct 10, 2017.

1. Ultra Static

Ultra Static

Hi all, I'm fairly new to canyoneering, and would love to draw on the collective knowledge here to get some info about the state of my rope! Some background: I have a 65m BlueWater 9.2mm Canyon DS, fairly new- only seen about 6 canyons or so with various numbers of people rappelling on it.

This past weekend, I was with a group and we were doing a 200ish foot rap, and since several people in the group were beginners to rapping, I had them use waist prusiks above their rappel device to back themselves up. Now, before I get jumped on, I have fully learned the lesson of NOT using waist prusiks to back up a rappel- they're difficult to release if engaged, and generate a lot of heat as I have seen first hand. We were using these in addition to a fireman's belay, for another layer of safety. Rest assured, if I need to back up a rappel in the future, I'll be using an autoblock on the leg loop, with the rappel extended. Anyway, one individual using the waist prusik generated so much heat that the 6mm paracord exterior melted during the rap. This individual was going down single strand on an ATC, and was not going at excessive speeds. After the rest of the group finished the rap, when I went to flake my rope into it's bag, I found it to be EXCEEDINGLY stiff- it wouldn't coil at all like a normal rope, and rather would kink and hold its shape anywhere I bent it. The majority of the rope is like this now, except for the very ends on both sides. From the limited info I've found online, it seems like I've glazed the sheath with the melted prusik. Is this rope still safe to use? Is there anything I can do (washing, soaking...) to return my rope to a semblance of flexibility? Thanks in advance for the feedback.
  2. Tom Collins

Tom Collins