Send us a suggestion!

Spring Subway trip

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tom Collins, Feb 5, 2019.

1. Tom Collins

Tom Collins

I've heard about the Subway in Spring runoff conditions, but never done it, I'm thinking this might be the year for me. That said I don't spend much time in Zion early spring so I'm not good at predicting what the conditions might be.

I know it will only be speculation at this point, but for those who have done it in Spring, what do you think it will be like in early April this year? Would it be better to plan to go earlier or later, or just plan on it for that time hope for the best and be willing to change last minute? The plan is to catch it in "sporty" mode so higher water is better (within reason of course)
    Ram likes this.
  2. Ram

Ram

Well, it depends on a few things, much of it discernible to some degree. How much snow up at Lava Point? I believe there is a gauge. Someone will provide the link, I hope. Then one can see how much water is coming down North Creek near Virgin, Then one can hike in a few tenths of a mile at the Left Fork trail head and take a peek down. How has the weather been the week before you go? Is the thaw early or late?

Many years, the road is closed at the base of Mahoney Hill, adding 1.5 miles of hike to the Wildcat trail head. You might find a fair bit of snow for the mile hike over to Northgate/Subway trail junction. Can be wet, can be post holing. Almost certainly, once you get onto the south facing slopes, the snow will be minimal. Sometimes the slope leading up to the little pass, beyond where the route splits from Russell drainage, one will find snow on the north facing and steep slope. This can be a show stopper, at certain times. Have the ability to descend Russell Gulch and that becomes a moot point.