Send us a suggestion!

SOLO TRAVERSE AROUND THE EMERALD POOLS (CASTLE DOME, CLIFF DWELLING MOUNTAIN, LADY MOUNTAIN)

Discussion in 'Trip Reports' started by Dan, Aug 18, 2017.

1. Dan

Dan

I'm mostly a rock climber but enjoy this site and posting on it when I do something you guys might call canyoneering...

August 14-16, I did a solo (with rope) traverse of the formations that surround the Emerald Pools. Please reference Tom Jones’, “Zion Canyoneering”, for maps and details regarding canyons. I studied it hard !!
    And Courtney Purcell’s,” Zion National Park: Summit Routes”, for details on Lady of the Cliff and Lady Mountain.
    Traverese of the Emerald Pools - Map.
    I started at the Grotto. I hiked the West Rim Trail to the start of Behunin Canyon. I descended Behunin Canyon to just before the first rappel, the juncture where one leaves Behunin Canyon in order to climb Castle Dome. I climbed Castle Dome’s south face.

From the summit of Castle Dome, I rappelled and down-climbed north into the notch between Castle Dome and Castle Dome Ridge, the ridge that leads out from the West Rim. Five rappels were required with a single rope (I had to keep it light. I had a full climbing rack).

I descended west, down Castle Dome Canyon (can I call it that?) mid-way into The Gunsight Start for Heaps Canyon. At the bottom of Castle Dome Canyon two rappels were required to descend steep canyons walls into The Gunsight. I believe this to be the first descent of the canyon on the north side of Castle Dome.

I descended The Gunsight to where it feeds into Heaps Canyon at The Crossroads. I continued a short ways south into Isaac Canyon where I climbed onto the north ridge of Cliff Dwelling Mountain which I climbed to its summit. No, there are no cliff dwellings on the summit. It’s a sea of thick manzanita.