Send us a suggestion!

Rope recommendation

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Gear' started by KBDave, Sep 13, 2019 at 5:45 PM.

1. KBDave

KBDave

I'm a novice at canyoneering. I've done some rappelling before, but I've only been actual canyoneering once. I'm currently in a canyoneering class in college, and I aim to continue the sport after this.

I am thinking that I should get a rope. I won't be going solo or anything, but I also don't want to be a total leech when it comes to tagging along on trips with people. I've got a harness and a couple of carabiners and a CRITR2, I still have to get a helmet and a few more quick links, and tubular webbing. Anything else that I should definitely get?

I am looking at 200 ft ropes, in the 9-10mm range. Does this sound appropriate for a beginner? I'll be doing Southern Utah canyons, nothing huge at first but I'll get there.

Thanks in advance.
    Rapterman likes this.
  2. ratagonia

ratagonia

You do not need a rope. Helmet and wetsuit would be your first significant purchases.

Once you have done a double handful of canyons, you will have used several different ropes and will, perhaps, find a style that you find best. Quite a few people purchase a rope very early based on a flood of internet opinions, and figure out somewhat later that they bought something that turns out less than ideal.

Tom
  3. ratagonia

ratagonia

The other way to tell when you need to buy a rope is when one of your more-experienced canyoneering friends pulls you aside and says "it would be nice if you would buy a rope".

Tom
  4. Jeff Randall

Jeff Randall