Send us a suggestion!

Tech Tip: Question Recommended Harness and Wetsuit for Very Small 13 Year Old?

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Gear' started by Emilyy2, Feb 9, 2020.

1. Emilyy2

Emilyy2

Hello,

I've been doing canyoneering for 7+ years now, my 13 year old son has done it along with me a few times throughout those years, but has only now gained a strong interest for it within the past year. We've mainly just used rental equipment for him but now that he's really interested, he wants his own gear and I'm 100% up for doing that.
    So far we've been looking for a harness and wetsuit (he prefers the aquatic side to it) for him and have had not that much luck, though we've had some luck with buying some other things.

The main reason we've had a problem is due to his short size. We're a genetically small family and have roots in a shorter country, so that along with him having Growth Hormone Deficiency place him low on the growth chart.
    He's 4 foot 5.3 inches and around 60 pounds at the moment, but even with this, he's in proportion and just ends up looking younger than he actually is.
    Another issue which causes some problems for harnesses is that he's insistent on getting a full body harness. I don't specifically know why, but I can create an update on why he is when I find out.
    On top of that, so far, the wetsuits and harnesses we've rented for him aren't to his preferences or seem hard to find, even with help from instructors.

Sorry for the long paragraphs, but I thought I should probably explain everything to put it into context. If anyone knows of any wetsuits and full body harnesses that could match his height and weight, please let me know as I'd be very thankful.