Send us a suggestion!

Recommend a basic rappelling rope for a beginner?

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Gear' started by chconnor, Jun 6, 2018.

1. chconnor

chconnor

Hi -- I'm a beginner starting out with some rappelling and need to get some rope so I can start practicing and building up my skills.

I'm not actually going to be canyoneering or caving but (eventually) rappelling down steep ravines in the woods: anchoring to trees, rappelling down, ascending back up. (Hopefully it's OK to post this here anyway... please remove if not...) Descent device is an SMC Micro u-rack.

Based on research and goals, I was thinking to get a basic ~10mm, non-dry, static or semi-static rope, not too stiff or slippery. If it's relatively light that's great, but not crucial.

I have some PMI Sport Max-Wear 11mm. It's very stiff and I'm hoping for something significantly more knottable. I was suspecting that a canyoneering rope is not really what I want, so I shied away from the Imlay and Bluewater stuff, which I've heard are pretty stiff.

I find the Mammut 10 Performance, the Edelweiss Speleo II 10mm... any other obvious brands that I'm missing? Can I assume they'll be more pliable than the PMI I have?

Thanks!

P.S. I don't want to keep pestering this forum if it's inappropriate to ask not-precisely-canyoneering questions here... it just seemed like there's enough overlap to make it relevant.
  2. Sutitan

Sutitan

Ever take a look at Sterling? my favorite rope I own is their C-IV for its smoothness and knotability. it is one of my oldest ropes which might help its case, but I feel like it was always great even from the get-go. I picked up their 9mm HTP since I needed a cheap replacement and its much stiffer and knots somewhat poorly.

I dont think alot of people here deal with 10/11mm ropes. Have you taken a look to see what arborists use?
  3. hank moon

hank moon kinetically bulbous