Send us a suggestion!

Pleiades conditions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Stephen, Jun 2, 2015.

1. Stephen

Stephen

Hello, All--
    I am new to the collective. My name is Stephen. I wonder if anyone has been through Pleiades lately and if so what the flow conditions are like? I have been through once in the fall when there was only a trickle but being late spring I am assuming there is more flow. Anyone been through recently? Thanks,
    Stephen
  2. Scott Patterson

Scott Patterson

I haven't been through, but saw the La Sals recently. My guess is that the canyon still has quite a bit of snow and ice in it. It is probably too early.
  3. Ram

Ram

Sure was a lot of snow up in the peaks when I drove past a few weeks back. Was most of that snow spring snow from the wet May storms? I ask because there is the deep freeze/winter of the place that lets go, often in April or May and then there are the spring storms that impact at that altitude for a few days here and there. I wonder what its like in there a few days into June? It is easy to check it out. The hike is short and its an excuse to get out of the heat and one need not pull the trigger if one finds snow before the first rap.

here are some pictures from May 10th 2012
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
  4. Scott Patterson

Scott Patterson

Was most of that snow spring snow from the wet May storms?

I believe so. The La Sals looked to be fairly snowy high up and in the shaded canyon, I'd expect snow and ice is still in there. The last snowstorm I know of was Memorial Day weekend.
  5. Scott Patterson

Scott Patterson

This post was made on 14ers.com (bu kaiman). It pertained to hiking, rather Canyoneering in the La Sals, but it may be useful: