Send us a suggestion!

Passing the Knot...What Knot to Use

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Gear' started by Drock, Aug 9, 2017.

1. Drock

Drock

Hello all, Noob here
    I have a question in regards to a scenario..here goes:

Rope bag is tossed and I do not hear it hit but decide to roll over ledge anyway and it slopes and I cannot ascertain that rope has hit bottom. I get over slope lip and then notice rope never hit deck and am dangling, deciding to ascend or tie other rope to complete rappel. I decide to tie other rope to complete rappel, passing the knot. What knot? EDK, Figure 8, etc?
    Rapterman likes this.
  2. Bootboy

Bootboy Atwood Gear

EDK is pretty standard for tying ropes together. Remember to tie and clip in to a catastrophe knot for the knot passing operation.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Rapterman likes this.
  3. Craig

Craig Feeling My Way

Now the question is how do you pull down your knotted ropes.
    Rapterman and Deagol like this.
  4. Bootboy

Bootboy Atwood Gear

There are advanced techniques but generally the best strategy is to carry enough rope.

You admit to being new so it's likely that you'll be doing popular, well beta'ed canyons for now. Your strategy should be to carry enough rope and get comfortable with the basics. Milk before meat.

Where do you plan to be doing canyons for now? Put your feelers out for partners that are willing to take you along and teach you. This community is a great place to start and learn.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Rapterman and Deagol like this.
  5. Canyon Monkey

Canyon Monkey Useful Idiot

If you are unsure that the rope is on the ground you should rig a releasable contingency. If you get to the end of the rope and it is not on the ground the person on top can simply lower you the remaining way.
    Bshapiro and Rapterman like this.
  6. Drock

Drock