Send us a suggestion!

Newb question about the subway.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dan H, Apr 6, 2019.

1. Dan H

Dan H FNG

I am a newb who will be leading newbs down the subway at the end of the month (in theory). If it is too blown out for us to go top down we may attempt a bottom up hike, the question is, is it possible to upclimb the final rappel at the subway? Pure curiosity. Thanks for being tolerant and harshly judgmental at the same time.
    gajslk and ratagonia like this.
  2. deathtointernet

deathtointernet

I don't know your climbing skills, so I'm going to go with 'maybe.' I can say that it has been done. You wouldn't climb the current rappel line directly, the climbing is done on the right side LUC, which does mean you have to cross the waterfall gap to proceed upcanyon. From my experience the climb is generally attempted from an obvious slab/groove around the corner from the rappel line, nearer to the waterfall. Having not bothered to attempt it myself I can't rate the difficulty except to say that it looks like the most difficult part would be getting started, particularly depending on how deep/high the water is at the base of the climb.
  3. Dan H

Dan H FNG

I doubt it will even come up but it is good information. Climbing shoes are a light thing to add to the pack but I’m not sure the little bit of extra canyon would be worth the effort required to get to it if we aren’t able to come from above. In all my research on going the last week of April it looks like it could be suicide or a walk in the park. Thank you. I still hold out hope that we will be able to come from the top but it’s supposed to snow this week yet again. Not the best winter to get into canyoneering.
  4. Mike Zampino

Mike Zampino Canyon season never ends.

Question: I was wondering if one could approximate the flow rate of North Creek by comparing the flow rate of the Virgin in Springdale and St. George?
  5. ratagonia

ratagonia