Send us a suggestion!

UT: Zion Mystery: Beating the Monsoon

Discussion in 'Trip Reports' started by darhawk, Jul 27, 2014.

1. darhawk

darhawk

We did Mystery on Friday, July 25. Pretty sure it wasn't a first descent. But it was OUR first time in Mystery, a canyon that I had been hearing about for many years. I'm pretty sure that I was partially bitten by the canyoneering bug 15 years ago or so when I saw a party rapping out of Mystery into the Narrows. I finally took up canyoneering 4 years ago and I do a few canyons a year. It hasn't been super-appealing to fight through the crowds and permit system at Zion and so I often head elsewhere, but I finally decided the time had come, time to do this canyon.

Rain was forecast beginning 2 pm, at least according to accuweather. So, we decided ya gotta get up early to beat the monsoon. We barely made the 6 am shuttle, with seconds to spare, and appreciated everyone leaving us the best possible parking spot.

upload_2014-7-27_14-22-28.

McDonalds breakfasts are less appealing an hour after purchase, but calories are calories.

upload_2014-7-27_14-30-43.

We enjoyed a gorgeous sunrise hiking up from Weeping Rock and very reasonable temps.

upload_2014-7-27_22-42-50.

Staring down Death Gully; we headed down about 9 am, right on schedule, 2 hours and 15 minutes from the Weeping Rock trailhead.

upload_2014-7-27_22-52-19.

X marks the spot of a beautiful section.

upload_2014-7-27_22-53-4.

A very recently felled pine, snapped in two, with one half above a little downclimb and the other below. Shaky pic, but a cool reminder of the awesome forces of nature.

upload_2014-7-27_22-53-42.

We were moving quickly, so didn't take too many pics, but this one of soaring walls turned out nicely.

upload_2014-7-27_22-54-19.

Looking down on Mystery Spring. My 16-year-old son was the first down. We got here about 1:30, pleased that we were making pretty good time, especially with one newbie, and two with only a few canyons.