Send us a suggestion!

Lake Powell Canyoneering by Water

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Joe Hoover, May 27, 2020.

1. Joe Hoover

Joe Hoover King Zeus

My wife and I have been vacationing in Southern UT / Northern AZ in May for the past six years (not this year unfortunately). We normally go deep in the back country and find some remote canyon or hike to do as an overnight trip or go remote in one of the fine national parks. This year we are thinking about doing something different and exploring the area more in depth around Lake Powell in the September/October timeframe. The very general plan is this... Rent a boat (and kayaks) for a couple of days and try to explore some of the slots/canyons/arches both by water and by land. My initial questions are logistical in nature and are as follows:

> Is this plan realistically doable?
    > Are there any issues with leaving a boat and going kayaking for a few hours?
    > Can I leave a safely leave a kayak on a beach and then hike inland for a bit?
    > Are there many beaches where I can bring a boat in and camp?
    > Other considerations/difficulties I may be missing?

I know that I have the option of paying for a guide but generally prefer to do things on my own and increase my flexibility.
    I apologize in advance for for the newbie type questions but I have done many things around Lake Powell, but have never rented a boat there.

Thanks in advance for any answers.
  2. Downward Bound

Downward Bound

Your plan is totally doable. My wife and I boat, camp, and hike Lake Powell a lot. Go after Labor Day and the crowds fall way off, but the weather is still fantastic. Never had any problems with leaving gear in camp.

Here is a sample from last week:

I have a number of Lake Powell videos on my YouTube page showing different areas of the lake.