Send us a suggestion!

UT: Cedar Mesa Fry, Short, Fortknocker and Duckett Slot Canyons

Discussion in 'Trip Reports' started by Downward Bound, Jun 9, 2013.

1. Downward Bound

Downward Bound

I look forward to May each year, as I graduate my students (I'm a professor at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff) and have a few weeks to head to southeast Utah for some canyons before the heat and gnats run me away. In both 2012 and 2013 the wife and I have headed to the White Canyon area for some car camping and canyons. We camp somewhere along the road from Duckett Crossing that heads out towards Fortknocker. You have to look really hard to find shade, but there is one great spot with both a good shade tree and a shady alcove. We spent five days there last year, and only saw one car drive by the entire time, and no other people anywhere. This year we did four days, with the same great lack of people and traffic. Amazing to have such a great area all to ourselves.

I've been a rock climber since 1977 but the elbows and shoulders are getting a bit old for 5.11 crimpers and the wife just won't rock climb. We've taken up canyoneering and are loving it. We are still newbies, so we take it easy and don't try anything that will scare us away from wanting more.

This year, we headed out on May 13 and stopped by the Frylette on our way in order to try out the new wetsuits. The water seemed low relative to some published reports, but it was fun and quite scenic, if short. We're really glad the brought the solar shower and enough water for daily showers.