Send us a suggestion!

Tech Tip: Question Cheap Canyon Packs

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Gear' started by Canyon Hopper, Nov 15, 2019.

1. Canyon Hopper

Canyon Hopper

Hey, long time lurker but first time poster here. I’ve been canyoneering for a couple years but managing to get away with a small crappy bag, so I’m going for a new one. I’m considering buying an Imlay or Rodcle, but the price is convincing me to look elsewhere first. The two that stand out as canyon specific cheap bags are the BEAL Hydro Bag (https://www.canyonzone.com/a-47696709/canyon-packs/beal-hydro-bag/) at Moosejaw for $90 and the Edelrid Canyoneer Guide 50 (https://www.backcountry.com/edelrid-canyoneer-guide-50-backpack-3051cu-in )for $140-20% coupon. I’m thinking the Beal bag looks better, but having not had a canyon specific pack before I was wondering if anyone has experience with these or thoughts on the comparison between these and more expensive bags?
  2. Jeff Randall

Jeff Randall

Not sure about the others you mentioned since I've never used either, but I do own two of the Imlay Kolob packs and have literally put them through the wringer, both in Southwest canyons and canyons in the southeast. Can't say enough good things about them and how they've held up.
    Dave Melton and ratagonia like this.
  3. ratagonia

ratagonia

Where do you plan on doing canyons?

The Rodcle, Beal and Edelrid packs are designed for one kind of canyon.

The Imlay packs are designed for a different kind of canyon.

Tom
  4. NateFlet

NateFlet

I've found that the AmazonBasics Internal Frame hiking pack works great for what I need. I know its not canyon specific, but it has gone through a number of canyons without any problems.
  5. Canyon Hopper

Canyon Hopper