Send us a suggestion!

Canyon Fire or Canyonero?

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Gear' started by Naysan Sahba, Jan 28, 2017.

1. Naysan Sahba

Naysan Sahba

Hey everybody,

I have been rock climbing for a pretty long time but I am pretty new to technical canyoneering and I am looking to buy my first rope. I've heard a lot of good things about Imlay ropes but I don't know if I should get the 8.3mm Canyon Fire or the 9.2mm Canyonero. I'm a pretty small guy (130lbs) so I was wondering if I would get stuck if I rappelled with a double strand of the Canyonero. Anyway, what do you guys think would be best considering my weight and the fact that I'll probably be rappelling double stranded through a figure-8 for a while? Also, how much rope should I buy just to start with?

Thanks in Advance!
    Ram likes this.
  2. John Styrnol

John Styrnol

Both ropes are very nice, and worth the price. I have a 120' of Canyonero, and 200' of the Canyon Fire. These two lengths are very common in canyoneering in Utah. You should be fine also with both lengths of the Canyon Fire, if you choose to do so. Don't forget rope bags, very nice to have for rope management. As to the stuck part, I cannot say, but at 130 lbs, you might have problems and will have to feed the rope out at the start of a rap. How you set up your device will also have a play in friction. The 8mm would be quicker, but you also have to take into consideration the other people in the group.
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2017
    Ram likes this.
  3. LonePeak

LonePeak