Send us a suggestion!

Am I a Beginner?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dan H, Jan 25, 2022.

1. Dan H

Dan H FNG

This question came to mind from another post, and rather than continue to muddy the waters of that post I thought it was time to give this question it's own room to breathe.

Am I a beginner? I think I know my own answer but would like to hear your opinions, and this is probably a healthy question to ask yourself as you prep for a new year and scout new canyons.

I have 20 years of casual climbing experience. That means weekend warrior type sport climbing. I've only ever followed trad climbs, and only 4-5 pitches. I had professional climbing instruction in the beginning, but that was a long time ago. I get out my ascending kit at least once a year to refresh my technique and struggle up a couple hundred feet of rope. I spend much more time researching canyon and rappel techniques online then I ought too, and I practice rappelling as it's own skill before going to a technical canyon. I plan my canyons around my limited skillset and only chose canyons that are well within what I consider a safe threshold. They are usually short, with few rappels that have well documented simple anchors. If I can't convince my wife that it is a simple safe anchor then I can't use it, so nothing buried.

I've only completed around a dozen technical canyons, and only one or two with experienced canyoneers. I believe in tom's beginner statement "don't be a beginner leading (or being led by) a beginner," but I worry that every time I take my family down a short simple canyon close to home, I am breaking tom's rule. Am I lucky, or is knowing my skillset and choosing canyons appropriate for it move me out of beginner territory in those canyons? I have led my family safely and successfully through the subway, high spur, and several other very short canyons requiring one or two rappels. What are your thoughts?
  2. Rapterman

Rapterman

Hi Dan!