Send us a suggestion!

A Beginner's Guide to FreezeFest

Discussion in 'Trip Reports' started by Canyonero, Jan 5, 2018.

1. Canyonero

Canyonero

So I went to FreezeFest this year. I had a great time. I was given lots and lots of great tips before going, but even so there were a few things I wished I had known prior to going. So I thought I'd post a Trip Report and hopefully give those who may come later some idea of what they're getting into. In addition, I put together a 13 minute YouTube Video documenting some of my experiences over the three days. Don't expect Dan Ransom kind of video quality, but hopefully you'll enjoy it. Not only am I a rookie canyoneer, but I'm also a rookie photographer, videographer, drone pilot, and video editor. First the video, then the trip report. If the video drags too much for you, just skip ahead. Sorry about that black spot toward the end, it only lasts a few seconds. Like I said...rookie.

Salt Lake is having a crap snow year, so there was nothing else to do over New Year's, and Ram had been bugging me about how fun FreezeFest always is and telling me that it isn't nearly as cold as most people think. So I decided to go. I tried to recruit every one I could, but in the end, only @BaJenkins was stupid enough to come with me. A few days before, I got to thinking about what we'd do down there besides the Black Hole and asked whether anyone ever did Sandthrax. @Tom Collins was up for it and @ratagonia was willing to lend us a couple of # 6 Camalots so we left Salt Lake at 4 am so we wouldn't miss the show. Probably could have left earlier since I couldn't sleep anyway due to thinking about the canyon. We pulled into the parking lot about 8 am and over the next couple of hours, a group of 11 came together and headed off for Sandthrax.